Posted by: Walk.Build.Proclaim | August 27, 2014

I’ve been duped!

You duped me, O LORD, and I let myself be duped;

you were too strong for me, and you triumphed.  Jer. 20. 7-9

This opening statement from Jeremiah is a real attention getter isn’t it! You duped me, O Lord, and I let myself be duped. How many times have we felt duped, by our own kids, a friend, a spouse, or a co-worker. We may think, you got me this time, but it won’t happen again I’m going to have my guard up.  Have you ever felt duped by God the same way that Jeremiah did?

I have to say this week I am feeling particularly duped. I am feeling that way because this week my kids started 7th Grade and celebrated their 13th Birthday (the 2nd day of school). I’m feeling a little bit duped by how fast time goes by. I know it seems so cliche’ to say that time goes by so fast and we should enjoy the little moments we have with those we love, at the same time we are trying so hard to provide for those that we love that we don’t always have the time we’d like to spend with those we love and enjoy an afternoon with 2- 3yr olds at the park or swimming, or catch an afternoon nap when the kids are napping.

Before we know we it, we’re living with teenagers who will soon be adults contributing to society.  Yeah, I’m feeling duped like Jeremiah this week and like Jeremiah I let it happen.

The next line that Jeremiah goes on to say that you (God) was too strong for me and triumphed. As I watch my kids move into their teenage years, it is my hope and prayer that they have a sense that God is bigger than they are. God is bigger than their teenage anxt and that if they trust in God he’ll always have their backs and He will triumph.

I may feel duped this week by time, but I am certainly grateful that God is stronger than I am and I am forever grateful that he blessed our family with these two wonderful kids.

                                    Happy 13th Birthday Nick and Grace.

 

2014-08-26 09.51.02 2014-08-26 07.26.40

1-year photo                                                 13-year olds 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Gary Neal Hansen

Theology. It's good for you.

