Posted by: Walk.Build.Proclaim | June 4, 2013

Daily Gratitude

It has been said that if there is are other words that are prayed in a day, then simply say ” Thank You” and you’ve said it all.

I follow Fr. James Martin, SJ on Facebook. Fr. Martin shares a variety of articles and reflections. On Wed. May 29th, he posted this evening prayer.

Evening prayer: Tonight I will look back on my day, slowly and gently, and remember where I met God. Then I will pause to savor those moments, and rest in gratitude.

James Martin Photo

The statement, “I will pause to savor those moments, and rest in gratitude” have stuck with me. I keep thinking, do we think about resting in gratitude?  To me this is more than an “Attitude of Gratitude.” Resting in Gratitude is really about looking back over the entire day and being attentive to when and where you saw God at work in your life and in the lives of those around you.

During the Easter Season Rev. David Lose, author of …In the Meantime (one of his many talents) kept an online journal entitled Easter Gratitude. He encouraged his readers to do the same thing; the goal was to really take notice of life and blessings around you. http://www.davidlose.net/2013/05/easter-gratitude-recap-and-review

Rev. Lose talks about how a variety of distractions sidetracked him from time to time. That is probably true for anyone that takes on a task like this. I’ll readily admit I’ve had a hard time keeping up on daily basis. There is something to be said for taking five or ten minutes at the end of each day to look back and see where God was at work in your life that day.

Prayer:Tonight I will look back on my day, slowly and gently, and remember where I met God. Then I will pause to savor those moments, and rest in gratitude

Leave a Reply

Categories

Gary Neal Hansen

Theology. It's good for you.

