Posted by: Walk.Build.Proclaim | May 17, 2013

Making Room to Be Still

Last week (the week of May 6th) I was on a cleaning tirade in our house. It all started with the desire to take on one project that has eluded me for years. The major component to that project was, of course, at the bottom of the potential avalanche pile in a closet.  That one project led to three days of sorting, washing, donating, walking down memory lane and throwing things out.  I was on such a role that I was able to sort, organize, donate and throw things out from a closet, three drawers, a storage area and three different kitchen cabinets.

It felt really good to do all of this, especially because this wasn’t a project that I had started the week wanting to do or dreading doing. This took on a life of its own. It was on Saturday May 11th that I figured out what had gotten into me. The answer laid in Psalm 4, verse 1: Answer me when I call, O God of my right! You gave me room when I was in distress.

I was given the opportunity (unbeknownst to me) to make room for God in my life.  One would think how can someone who spent 17-years of their life / career working for a church not have enough room for God in their life?  My answer would be that physical-material things in your life can take up more space in your life than you are aware of.  There is so much unseen or unrealized maintenance that goes with having material things, it can almost be suffocating; not having that room can become a way of life.

As I learned this lesson about making room, I also wondered what lesson this week was going to hold. This week has been a Psalm 46.10 week: Be Still and Know that I Am God.  For those that know me well, they are probably having a good laugh at my expense as they know that “being still” is certainly NOT my forte at all!! This week has been a normally busy week, I have 11 year old twins. What week isn’t busy?  This week I have tried to walk without my headphones, to spend the 5 or 10 minutes of waiting to pick my kids up after school reading something like the daily devotions from …In the Meantime. I’ve tried to keep the TV off while folding laundry. Some really easy things that make it easier to “be still”.

Next time you’re thinking about cleaning the basement or garage or closet, instead of that project being a daunting task on your “to-do” list, re-Read Psalm 4 v. 1. Then, look at the project as a way of making a little bit more room in your life for God.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Gary Neal Hansen

Theology. It's good for you.

