Posted by: Walk.Build.Proclaim | April 18, 2013

Welcome to God’s Kitchen

I will admit that I am a wee-bit addicted to Pinterest! I try really hard to choose things to pin for projects or recipes or places that I feel like I’d actually be able to follow through on one way or another.

Earlier this week I came across a recipe for salted caramel rice krispie treats. (They just sound delicious, don’t they?) My 11-yr old son saw the “perfect picture” of them and said, “Those look really good can you can make them?”

But, Betty Crocker I am not! When my children ask me to make a special treat, I try to meet that request.  I made a list of the ingredients needed and headed off to Sendik’s to make this special ooey-gooey treat for my family:

http://www.redbookmag.com/recipefinder/salted-caramel-treats-recipe-rbk0412?click=recipe_sr

I expected them to be delicious. What I didn’t expect in this process was to find a way to pray and teach my children a new way to pray.

The recipe calls for unwrapping each of 50 individually wrapped caramels! By the time I got the about the 8th caramel,  I was beyond frustrated that the wrappers weren’t coming off as easily as I had hoped they would. Was God trying to get my attention? Was he telling me to slow down? Was he asking me, “What’s the hurry?” I told myself that with a little bit of time and patience, the end result is going to be fantastic.

As I was unwrapping these individual caramels, I started thinking about all the different people in my life; some are struggling, some are exactly where God needs them to be, while others were just brought to the place where God needs them to be. Each caramel became a prayer for all those different people. Then it hit me that if my kids were home, I’d have them helping me unwrap these caramels and together we’d be praying for others and our family.

This process got me to thinking about what a great experience being in the kitchen can be with your kids–grandkids, nieces, nephews etc. All the wonderful and yummy things that can be created and shared.

Because the name of this blog is Walk. Build. Proclaim, I thought how can we take this one step further? How can we share our abundance with others?  There are soooo many ways that our abundance and creativity and yummy creations can be shared.

There are many meal programs that would appreciate a home-cooked meal. How about a neighbor or a classmates family that may have fallen on hard times? If you belong to a church, they may have a volunteer coordinator or a parish nurse that would be happy to connect your family with someone that needs a meal. Interfaith of  Waukesha County (WI) is always looking for volunteer families to connect with their clients.

Spend a little time in God’s Kitchen, by sharing one of your favorite recipes with someone else. Pray for the recipient of the yummy meal or gooey treat as you’re making it.  LISTEN to who and what your kids and/or  grand kids are praying for or about.

The salted caramel rice krispie treats turned out great, and my kids loved them!!

Beth and I would love for you to share some of your favorite recipes in the comment section or on our Facebook page:  Walk.Build.Proclaim.

Here is a prayer to share with your family at the dinner table:

Bless the food before us. The family beside us. And the love between us.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Gary Neal Hansen

Theology. It's good for you.

